Book Lists

List: Award Winners

These are books that have won awards. Lists are divided by award and years are noted. Links of titles go to the page for the book on Links on authors or illustrators go to my review page for them.

Caldecott Medal

Awarded to the most distinguished American picture book illustrations for children.

1938 - Animals of the Bible by Dorothy P. Lathrop
1939 - Mei Li by Thomas Handforth
1940 - Abraham Lincoln by Ingri & Edgar Parin d'Aulaire
1941 - They Were Strong and Good by Robert Lawson
1942 - Make Way for Ducklings by Robert McCloskey
1943 - The Little House by Virgina Lee Burton
1944 - Many Moons by James Thurber, illustrated by Louis Slobodkin
1945 - Prayer for a Child by Rachel Field, illustrated by Elizabeth Orton Jones
1946 - The Rooster Crows by Maud and Miska Petersham
1947 - The Little Island by Margaret Wise Brown, illustrated by Leonard Weisgard
1948 - White Snow, Bright Snow by Alvin Tresselt, illustrated by Roger Duvoisin
1949 - The Big Snow by Berta and Elmer Hader
1964 - Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak
1988 - Owl Moon by Jane Yolen, illustrated by John Schoenherr
1996 - Officer Buckle and Gloria by Peggy Rathmann
2005 - Kitten's First Full Moon by Kevin Henkes

Charlotte Zolotow Award

Awarded to the author of the best picture book text for children.

2005 - Kitten's First Full Moon by Kevin Henkes

Laura Ingalls Wilder Award

Awarded to authors or illustrators whose works have made a lasting contribution to children's literature.

2003 - Eric Carle